Thomas D. Macrini Sports Hall of Fame

The Thomas D. Macrini Sports Hall of Fame is the Hall of Fame for the Wappingers Central School District. Athletes who are selected have to be out of school ten years before they can be nominated. Some athletes get in the first year they are eligible. Like  the hall of fame for pro sports, some athletes don't get in their first year of eligibility, but do get in later.

This is quite an amazing year for John Jay athletes who were involved in cross country and/or track and field. There are twelve athletes being inducted, nine of whom participated in strictly cross country and/or track.  Three others had another sport at which they also excelled.

If you are a John Jay grad you might recognize some of these names:
Kate Hack (Rusin) – xc/track and field
Dan Jordy – xc/track and field
Jeff Long – xc/track and field
Kelly McCloskey – xc/track and field
Ted Turner – xc/track and field
Tim Walker – xc/track and field
Greg VanDeCarr  – xc/track and field
Travis VonStaden – xc/track and field
Rob Giandalone – track and field
Matt Flaherty – track and field/soccer
Jen McCracken – xc/track and field/softball
Corin Racicot – track and field/field hockey

It sure makes an old coach proud!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *